No one expects to be involved in a motor vehicle accident, but it’s best to be prepared with pre-informed if you do suffer through one in the future.
Whether you’ve just been involved in a severe crash or a minor fender bender, seek medical attention quickly. This critical step may not seem important if you feel fine and your car only received some scratches, but just the opposite is true.
The bottom line is: seek medical attention and do it within 14 days of the accident.
As a motor vehicle accident lawyer in Trinity, Florida, Chuck Philips understands the crucial significance of this step. His law office offers helpful – and crucial – information that everyone should know and understand.
Under Florida’s “no-fault” law, anyone involved in any kind of motor vehicle accident should see a doctor within 14 days of the accident, for two main reasons.
First, seeking medical attention within 14 days ensures that medical costs will be covered by “no-fault” vehicle insurance. If the 14-day mark is missed, no-fault coverages will be non-existent. As a personal injury lawyer in Trinity, Chuck Philips has discussed the importance of this two-week window with many clients. He informs them that, in order for ‘no-fault” coverages to apply, you have got to seek medical attention within 14 days of the vehicle accident. Otherwise, you’ll be relying on your own health insurance or wallet for those medical expenses. .
Secondly, you should receive medical attention after an auto accident in order to protect your interests later if a claim needs to be made. Even if you feel fine, go anyway. A doctor might find something that you can’t necessarily feel. Not only that, but many injuries present themselves days or weeks after an accident has occurred. If you want to make a claim against your PIP/No-Fault Benefits you have to prove that you sought medical attention within 14 days after the accident.
Now, receiving medical attention after an accident does not mean you must complete a full course of treatment or be completely healed within 14 days, but at least an initial visit is necessary. Trinity personal injury lawyer, Chuck Philips, informs clients to see their doctor or head to a walk-in clinic at least one time within the 14-day window. That way, there are grounds for making a claim later on if an injury presents itself.
If you’ve been in any kind of auto accident, head to the doctor and get checked out very soon after the collision. If you are in need of a personal injury lawyer in Trinity, our legal team in the Law Office of Chuck Philips is here for you and will be happy to walk with you throughout this process.